# Thomas County Board of Education Minutes May 23, 2017, 7:00 p.m.

#### Attendees - voting members

Ms. Nancy Hiers	Chair
Mr. Derwood Hickey	Vice Chair
Mr. David Dawson	Board Member
Mr. Charles Evans	Board Member
Mr. Mark NeSmith	Board Member
Mr. Dan Stewart	Board Member
Mrs. Kay P. Streets	Board Member
<u> Attendees - other</u>	
Dr. George H. Kornegay	Superintendent
Mrs. Melanie Chavaux	Associate Superintendent
Mrs. Carol Gerald	Administrative Assistant
Mr. Joey Holland	Assistant Superintendent for Finance & Operations
Robin Shaver	Coordinator of Elementary Instruction & New Teacher
	Induction
Dr. Lisa Williams	Associate Superintendent

### I. Call to order

### II. Devotional - Rev. Alfred Carver, Media Paraprofessional at TCMS

### III. Consent agenda

- A. Agenda
- B. Upcoming meeting: June 13
  C. HB 91 graduate
  D. Out-of-district students
  Motion made by: Mr. Derwood Hickey
  Motion seconded by: Mr. David Dawson
  Voting: Unanimously Approved

### IV. Recognition of Teachers of the Year - Robin Shaver

### V. Budget hearing

- A. Presentation of budget Joey Holland Chairperson Hiers declared the public hearing open and Mr. Holland presented the FY2018 budget.
- B. Public comments

Dr. Scott James informed the board of a shortage of school bus drivers and asked, in the future, if the board would consider doing more salary wise for bus drivers. He stated that, as a group, they were very appreciative of the 2% increase for FY2018. Jamie Thompson addressed the board and said he would like to have another literacy coach and informed them of the need for having a counselor for each grade level.

# VI. New business

- A. Warehouse truck bid
  - <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Derwood Hickey <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- B. Personnel report
   <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans
   <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith
   <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

C. Personnel Report Addendum <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Derwood Hickey <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes Mr. Derwood Hickey - Yes Mr. David Dawson - Yes Mr. Charles Evans - Yes Mr. Mark NeSmith - Recused Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes Mrs. Kay P. Streets - Yes

# VII. Adjournment

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mrs. Kay P. Streets <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

Chairperson

Secretary